Roger Haynes

Director of Athletics, Recreation and Fitness
Track and Field Head Coach
Adjunct Professor, Kinesiology

Room 2008 Huff Athletic Center 309-457-2177


In nearly four decades as head coach of the men’s track and field program and more than two decades as the women’s coach, Roger is a fixture in Monmouth athletics. He’s been a record-setting student-athlete, award-winning coach and visionary administrator.

Roger came to Monmouth from nearby Avon, Illinois, as a student-athlete in the late ’70s. After he graduated from Monmouth in 1982, Roger remained at his alma mater to serve as an assistant coach. He is now the College’s director of athletics and fitness, head track and field coach, and an instructor in the Department of Kinesiology.

Under Roger’s leadership, Monmouth has experienced unparalleled success. The Fighting Scots have produced 12 national champions and at least one All-American every year since 1985 – Roger’s second year on the job. That includes the indoor and outdoor pole vault national champions in 2018, two years after a long jump championship at the 2016 NCAA Outdoor National Championships. Monmouth’s men’s team placed fourth and third, respectively, at the NCAA National Indoor and Outdoor Championships in 2016.

In addition to their 12 national champions, Monmouth’s track and field program has produced more than 200 All-Americans, nearly 100 Midwest Conference team titles and more than 900 individual and relay league champions. Monmouth’s men won 21 consecutive Midwest Conference Indoor team championships.

A former school record holder in the College’s high jump and javelin, Roger was named 2007 Division III Men’s National Coach of the Year for the indoor season by the U.S. Track & Field and Cross Country Coaches Association. He was inducted into the Monmouth M-Club Hall of Fame in 1997.

Coaching Career
Monmouth (1984-present)
2007 – USTFCCCA Men’s Indoor Coach of the Year
2016 – USTFCCCA Midwest Region Men’s Coach of the Year

Individual NCAA Champions:
1986 – Outdoor HJ, Eric Ealy
1992 – Outdoor 400m H, Charles Burton
2005 – Outdoor SC, Zach Barr; 400m H, Blake Boma
2007 – Outdoor PV, Peter Sprecher
2008 – Indoor PV, Jonny Henkins; Outdoor PV, Jonny Henkins
2010 – Outdoor HJ, Tyler Hannam
2013 – Indoor LJ, James Wilson,
2016 – Outdoor LJ, James Wilson
2018 – Indoor PV, Dan Evers, Outdoor PV, Dan Evers

NCAA Top 4 Team
2007 – Men Outdoor: Third Place
2008 – Men Indoor: Second Place
2016 – Men Indoor: Fourth Place; Men Outdoor: Third Place

Midwest Conference Coach of the Year
2001 – Men Outdoor, Women Outdoor
2002 – Men Indoor, Women Indoor, Men Outdoor, Women Outdoor
2003 – Men Indoor, Women Indoor, Men Outdoor, Women Outdoor
2004 – Men Indoor, Men Outdoor
2005 – Men Outdoor, Women Outdoor
2006 – Men Indoor, Women Indoor, Men Outdoor, Women Outdoor
2007 – Women Indoor
2008 – Men Indoor, Men Outdoor, Women Outdoor
2009 – Men Indoor, Women Indoor, Women Outdoor
2010 – Men Indoor, Women Indoor, Men Outdoor, Women Outdoor
2011 – Men Indoor, Women Indoor, Women Outdoor
2012 – Women Indoor, Men Outdoor, Women Outdoor
2013 – Men Indoor, Women Indoor, Men Outdoor, Women Outdoor
2014 – Men Indoor, Women Indoor, Men Outdoor, Women Outdoor
2015 – Men Indoor
2016 – Men Indoor, Men Outdoor
2017 – Men Indoor
2018 – Men Outdoor
2019 – Men Indoor, Men Outdoor
2020 – Men Indoor

Midwest Conference Titles
1985 – Outdoor (Men)
1986 – Outdoor (Men)

1990 – Outdoor (Men)
1991 – Indoor (Men); Outdoor (Men)
1992 – Indoor (Men); Outdoor (Men)

1995 – Indoor (Men); Outdoor (Men)
1996 – Indoor (Men); Outdoor (Men)
1997 – Indoor (Men); Outdoor (Men)
1998 – Indoor (Men); Outdoor (Men)

2000 – Indoor (Men, Women); Outdoor (Women)
2001 – Indoor (Men); Outdoor (Men, Women)
2002 – Indoor (Men, Women); Outdoor (Men, Women)
2003 – Indoor (Men, Women); Outdoor (Men, Women)
2004 – Indoor (Men, Women); Outdoor (Men)
2005 – Indoor (Men, Women); Outdoor (Men, Women)
2006 – Indoor (Men, Women); Outdoor (Men, Women)
2007 – Indoor (Men, Women); Outdoor (Men, Women)
2008 – Indoor (Men, Women); Outdoor (Men, Women)
2009 – Indoor (Men, Women); Outdoor (Men, Women)
2010 – Indoor (Men, Women); Outdoor (Men, Women)
2011 – Indoor (Men, Women); Outdoor (Men, Women)
2012 – Indoor (Men, Women); Outdoor (Men, Women)
2013 – Indoor (Men, Women); Outdoor (Men, Women)
2014 – Indoor (Men, Women); Outdoor (Men, Women)
2015 – Indoor (Men)
2016 – Indoor (Men); Outdoor (Men)
2017 – Indoor (Men); Outdoor (Men)
2018 – Indoor (Men); Outdoor (Men)
2019 – Indoor (Men); Outdoor (Men)
2020 – Indoor (Men)


B.A. – Monmouth College, 1982

M.S. – Western Illinois University, 2007

Class Year