Monmouth / About the College / News / Full Story

Forty-eight students inducted into freshman honor society

Barry McNamara

MONMOUTH, Ill. – Four dozen students were inducted Monday into Monmouth College’s chapter of Alpha Lambda Delta, the national academic honor society for freshmen.

The society inducts students who earn at least a 3.5 grade point average in the first semester of their freshman year. Students join the prestigious national honor society for life.

Prior to their formal induction, the 48 students and some of their family members heard from Monmouth biology professor James Godde, who was inducted into the chapter as an honorary member, after being nominated by one of the inductees.

Godde told the students about the value of traveling abroad, which he did for the first time at the age of 14.

“I try to schedule trips that will open students’ eyes,” said Godde, who has taken the majority of his 11 trips with students to developing countries. “My goal is to hit the reset button in students.”

That reset button can come with an awareness that triggers an inspiration for service, which is one of the core values of Alpha Lambda Delta.

“I come back from these trips and find myself just standing in the supermarket and looking at all the choices we have, like choices for cereal,” said Godde. “In the countries we visit, if you can find three choices for cereal, that’s a lot. ... I think some of the students on these trips see that maybe we could get by with a little less and help people in other places. I’m all for students to be inspired and make a difference.”

Godde told the students that a junior-level Reflections class he teaches is scheduled to travel abroad the next two academic years. Perhaps some of the inductees now have a 2020 vision of taking that class as juniors and traveling with Godde to Belize.

After reciting the Alpha Lambda Delta Pledge, which included an emphasis on the values of service, diligence and integrity, the inductees heard from Sarah Ellis ’18 of Chrisman, Ill., who told them of the doors that Alpha Lambda Delta has opened for her during her college career. She encouraged them to take advantage of the leadership opportunities that the honor society provides.

The inductees were: Mamie Ambrosch, Savannah Bell, Aspen Chadderdon, Victoria Chaffee, Dylan Chiaro, Taylor Coffman, Riley Cook, Seth Croslow, Megan Davis, Hannah Decker, Joseph Doner, Carly Dunham.

Also: Brittney Enos, Logan Evans, William Fox, Matthew Franciscovich, Broke Hazelwood, Emma Hildebrand, Emma Johanns, Jack Koenn, Alyssa Konieczny, Emily Krueger, Leslie Linares Tzintzun, Cloey Little.

Also: Ashlyn Maher, Ryan McKirdy, Kyle McLaughlin, Maddisen Nelson, Alexis Opel, Courtney Ouart, Austin Pfau, Morgan Pizur-Kranc, Rebecca Quick, Emily Rein, Holly Reyner, Katelyn Richter.

Also: Renee Rude, Molly Schoon, Nathan Schroder, Shayne Smith, Bianca Stavrakakes, Julia Sterr, Matthew Temaner, Nicholas Thomas, Alison Trettin, Abby Tucker, Josie Welker and Thomas Witty.

The mission of Alpha Lambda Delta is to encourage superior academic achievement among students in their first year in institutions of higher education, to promote intelligent living and a continued high standard of learning, and to assist students in recognizing and developing meaningful goals for their roles in society.

Founded in 1924 at the University of Illinois, Alpha Lambda Delta has grown to 286 chapters. The Monmouth chapter was founded in 1956.