Monmouth / About the College / News / Full Story

Monmouth College establishes chapter of business honor society

Barry McNamara
Sophomore Mary Kate Luzzo of Orland Park, Ill., is the founding student member of Monmouth College’s new organization, Sigma Beta Delta, the international honor society in business, management and administration. Visiting assistant professor Tom Prince is president, assistant professor Julie Rothbardt is vice president and associate professor Wendi Bolon is secretary/treasurer. Pictured from left are Luzzo, Bolon, Rothbardt and Prince.
Monmouth College’s newest academic honor society is on campus thanks to the work of student Mary Kate Luzzo ’17 of Orland Park, Ill.

Missing from the list of honor societies has been one devoted to Monmouth’s large contingent of business majors, but with the establishment of Sigma Beta Delta, which held its inaugural induction ceremony on May 10, that will no longer be the case.

A year ago, Luzzo commented to a friend about the absence of academic honor society that recognized business majors.

“My friend simply said, ‘Bring one to campus,’ and that is what I did,” Luzzo said. “It has been a lot of hard work, and I am incredibly grateful for professors Wendi Bolon, Tom Prince and Julie Rothbardt, who worked so hard with me over this past school year.”

Founded in 1994 at Belmont (Tenn.) University, Sigma Beta Delta is an international honor society in business, management and administration. It was established to encourage and recognize scholarship and accomplishment among students in those fields and to encourage and promote aspirations toward personal and professional improvement and a life distinguished by honorable service to humankind.

“The inaugural class represents our inclusion in a prestigious group of academic and business leaders dedicated to the continual pursuit of meaningful aspirations,” said Prince, a visiting professor of political economy and commerce (PEC). “This honor society recognizes academic accomplishment and the continued effort to provide Monmouth students with the training and thoughtfulness the disciplines require. We are very pleased to offer this international recognition to our students who work to meet the standards required for inclusion in Sigma Beta Delta.”

The Greek letters Sigma Beta Delta were chosen because they are the initial letters of the Greek words for, respectively, wisdom, honor and the pursuit of meaningful aspirations. To date, Sigma Beta Delta has more than 400 chapters, and more than 80,000 members have been inducted.

“Finally seeing all of our hard work brought to life was amazing, and being able to honor all of these students and a lot of my close friends for all of their hard work in the PEC department is an unreal feeling,” Luzzo said. “I feel like I made an impact on this school, which I love so dearly.”

Prince is president of Monmouth’s chapter, Rothbardt is vice president and Bolon is secretary/treasurer. Luzzo was inducted as the founding student member, and Professor Mike Connell was also inducted.

The other inaugural inductees were all students and include:
 Matt Barnes ’17 of Colfax, Ill.                                     
Angela Baumann ’17 of Dubuque, Iowa                
Margaret Brundige ’17 of Elburn, Ill.                       
Thomas Cangelosi ’18 of Rockaway, N.J.               
Marissa Cox ’17 of Crystal Lake, Ill.                          
Cole Downey ’17 of Geneva, Ill.                                
Sarah Ellis ’18 of Chrisman, Ill.                                    
Jessica Fox ’17 of Carthage, Ill.                                  
Dario Fuller ’17 of Villa Park, Ill.                                 
Belinda Hall ’16 of Monmouth                                   
Cyril Hansen-Quartey ’18 of Accra, Ghana            
Jessica Irons ’17 of Abingdon, Ill.                              
Brian Johnson ’16 of Geneseo, Ill.                            
Jasmine Johnson ’17 of Chicago                                
Austin Jones ’17 of Rushville, Ill.                               
Dillon Lehr ’16 of Knoxville, Ill.                                   
Courtney McGehee ’18 of East Moline, Ill.           
Farida Mohammed ’18 of Conyers, Ga.                 
Kayla Moore ’17 of London Mills, Ill.
Michelle Nafziger ’18 of Prophetstown, Ill.
Madeline Neal ’18 of Charleston, Ill.
Trevor Oetting ’17 of Monmouth
Barbara Pajor ’17 of Oak Lawn, Ill.
Trent Rains ’17 of Lakeland, Fla.
Michelle Ravel ’17 of Monmouth
Regan Ross ’18 of Canton, Ill.
Paige Rus ’17 of Albany, Ill.
Rebecca Schmidt ’17 of Elmwood Park, Ill.
Kyle Schultz ’18 of Heyworth, Ill.
Alexis Sierens ’17 of Mineral, Ill.
Jamie Smith ’17 of Moline, Ill.
Katy Tolsky ’17 of Frankfort, Ill.
Phat Trenh ’16 of Gothenburg, Sweden
Allie Vallance ’17 of Palos Hills, Ill.
Neddy Velez ’17 of Chicago
Dustin Watts ’17 of Sterling, Ill.
Haley Jo Wollerman ’16 of Bingham, Ill.